Dr Hinner Köster

Dr Hinner Köster received his B.Sc. Agric. in 1986, his B.Sc. Agric. (Hons.) in 1987 and his M.Sc. Agric. (Animal Nutrition) in 1990 at the University of Pretoria. In 1995 he completed his Ph.D. in Ruminant Nutrition at Kansas State University, USA, where he still serves as adjunct faculty Professor since 2008. He has published more than 40 international and national scientific papers and abstracts, more than 600 popular scientific papers and presented 22 papers at international conferences and symposia. He further is a member of the American Society of Animal Science, South African Society of Animal Science where he served on Council until 2012, and South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions. His career positions include, Chief Nutritionist of Kynoch Feeds, Technical Director of Afgri Animal Feeds, Managing Director of Scinetic, co-owner and Executive Director of Animate Animal Health (Pty) Limited, and CEO of Kanhym. Currently, he is a shareholder and Executive Director of the Kaonne Investments group. He played a major role since 1998 at the SA Animal Feed Manufacturers Association (AFMA) and acted in various capacities on the Board of Directors (Chairman 2005-2007) and Chairman of all the Industry Committees. He was instrumental in initiating and contributing to the drafting of various Codes of Practice, Industry standards and a Code of Conduct for the Animal Feed industry. He currently also is the President of the SA Hereford Breeders’ Society and Chairman of the World Hereford Conference Committee. He also is a senior judge of various cattle breeds and represented South Africa in Argentina (2000), Australia (2004), Denmark (2008), Canada (2012) and Uruguay (2016) at World Hereford Conferences. He further co-owns a large egg production operation as well as two sheep stud herds of Döhne Merino and Dorper sheep, and two internationally known Hereford studs, Vicedale and Vicemong Herefords in the USA. During 1999, Dr Köster received the Afgri Technical Person of the Year award, in 2001 the Barney van Niekerk/AFMA Technical Person of the Year award, in July 2007 the Silver Medal by the South African Society of Animal Science and in September 2008, the Agriculturist of the Year Award for Gauteng.